Where the Crawdads sing – Delia Owens

How many reviews of books have you seen that just have that vibe of “I’ve been paid to post a positive review” or ones which are just simply the plot and the first damn chapter. Where is the creativity? The individuality? This will not be one of those, I’m not going to pander to the masses or be disingenuous.
When ‘Where the Crawdads Sing’ first popped off I was kind of put off by the hype. It seemed too overhyped for my liking.
At the beginning of the year, a few of the women in my work started a book club and this was the first and up to now the only read, we all don’t read at the same speed. Which to be completely honest is the reason why I read this book. For me though, this book was just fine, a bit of a slow build and a satisfying ending. I wouldn’t personally rave about it or give it a second read, I’d donate it to a charity shop if I hadn’t bought the Kindle version. I must admit though, I was caught out by one of the twists so big props there, but I did see the other coming. It was just, fine.
If you love this book, good for you! Find books that fill your heart with joy. For me though, this wasn’t it.


Leave a comment